top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorLLBB

8th day

Actualizado: 4 dic 2021

The dam

Sunday begins in Bolsward. Nobody in the street. Everything is closed. I'm not sure if it will be easy to find a place to have breakfast. Finally I find a place. It's a hotel. I think all the coffees are closed but the hotels give breakfast to their customers and decide to accept me. All the people I have found during the travel were incredible kind and the owners of this hotel are not an exception. They give me some advice to improve my experience. There are a lot of maps in each province and it is a good idea to have a look on them to plan the route.

I continue my riding near to the channels. It is common to see people rowing in them. A good experience, I'm sure. It's possible to see people of all the ages rowing as well as riding a bicycle. Some do it for fun, others for reaching a place and others for training.

My purpose for today is cycle the 30 km of the dam. A straight line with water on the two sides: on the one side sweet water, on the other side salt water. I am told that this is crazy but I feel this amazing. But, there is an important problem: the dam is under construction and it is not allowed. I try it but a civil servant ban me. I can cycle a bit on the beginning, a bit on the final and drive in the middle.

Before reach the ban I visit the seaweed. I think some people walk there because that type of mud is supposed to be good for the human health. I decide not to go inside because I've no options to clean myself after that dirty experience.

I stop in the middle of the dam. The wind is quite heavy but it's interesting to see that amount of different water around me.

In that route I found two windmills. More or less I've found one of them in each day route. But today I've have had more luck: one at the beginning of the day an another at the end.

Another curiosity I think I have found in each village I've passed is the existence of neighbourhood whatsapp group to prevent robberies.


11 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo

9th day

7th day

bottom of page